Women of the 116th Congress: Portraits of Power

Wednesday, Sep 30, 2020 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

VIRTUAL EVENT - ZOOM WEBINAR

The first woman speaker of the House. The first female combat veteran. The first Native American women. The first Muslim women. The first openly gay member of the Senate. These are just some of the remarkable firsts represented by the women of the 116th Congress, the most diverse and inclusive in American history.

The recently published New York Times book, The Women of the 116th Congress: Portraits of Power, documents the women of the 116th Congress in their totality, photographed in the style of historical portrait paintings commonly seen in the halls of power to highlight the stark difference between how we’ve historically viewed governance and how it has evolved.

Join us for a conversation with Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14), one of the history-making women of the 116th Congress, and UC Berkeley Ph.D. candidate in Political Science and photojournalist Elizabeth D. Herman and New York Times photo editor Marisa Schwartz Taylor, whose work profoundly captures the importance of this moment in history.

Co-sponsored by: Institute of Governmental Studies and the Robert T. Matsui Center for Politics and Public Service

 

Event contact: Sonia Moctezuma: soniamoctezuma@berkeley.edu
Please note various time zones: 12:00-1:00pm (PT) / 2:00-3:00pm (CT) / 3:00-4:00pm (ET)

Thursday Forum Series

Faculty and graduate students are welcome to submit proposals to present at the CRG Thursday Forum Series. Proposals to present as an individual or a panel are invited each semester.

LEARN MORE
about proposal deadlines, download proposal forms, and check out the latest upcoming forums.